How to do “omelet aux poireaux”

Roel and Patricia
Me and Patricia. (Pictured by an uncle of Sam van Keulen, who organises great parties in Burgundy, France).

Patricia learned me to make “Omelet aux poireaux”. In English: “Leak omelet”.  Or “Prei-omelet” in Dutch. The vegetable “Poireau”, “leak” or “prei” seems to be available always and everywhere in Northern Europa.

It is simple. It takes about half an hour.  You’ll need:

  • Leak
  • Eggs
  • Butter or oil
  • Salt & pepper

Start with cleaning the leak. (Especially I start washing the sand or clay out of the different leafs of the leak, before chopping it in to pieces. Just a bit of sand can spoil your meal). Then:

  1. Chop the leak (The whiter bottom parts will give smoother taste than the greener upper parts. I recommend a good mix of both)
  2. Heat leak slowly in enough butter or oil.  Reckon it takes more than a quarter of an hour. (It is a crucial phase. You need to find out the just amount of butter/oil. And you have to keep an eye on the leak nearly contiously. Use modest heat so the leak does not dry, and gets burned. It helps if you have a reasonable thick layer of leak-pieces in your pan. Cover with a lid, while heating, avoids to fast drying.) Still I want to experiment on where to add the salt and pepper best: adding to the leak, or to the beated eggs?
  3. Beat the eggs thoroughly. After breaking the eggs, beat a lot of air into content of the broken eggs. Beat till the liquid mass gets foamy. Use adjusted equipment to beat, a fork does not beat very easy.
  4. Add salt and pepper to the eggs
  5. (Take a part from the leak aside, if you have too much leak in your pan to make an omelet. This leak you can serve separate, together with the omelet.)
  6. Pour the foamy egg mass over the smoothed leak, and wait patiently till your omelet is slowly taken shape. You can have it jelly or more dry. Somewhere in between I find the most tasty.)
  7. Serve with bread. I like an accompanying hot tea. Even more I appreciate a cold white wine

When I am hosted via networks like couchsurfing.com, bewelcome.org, warmshowers.org or trustroots.org I often offer my hosts to prepare a simple meal. I have been preparing “Omelet aux poireaux” in many different kitchens. In Paris, Genth, Antwerp, Rotterdam. Always followed by nice conversations with the people hosting me.

It astonishes me how much variations I got while preparing omelets. Only two simple ingredients: leak and eggs. It seems simple. However I have spent rather some time on reading and watching following links. I like the information on omelets at wikipedia. Or watching Jamie Oliver making one in rather simple way. Or watch one of the several videos of french chief Jacques Pepin (speaking english), like in this video. And there is much more to be found. It astonishes me. (I hope to add some information on a recipe of a certain french chief La Varenne living around 1600. This recipe I read in the seventies in a glossy magazine “Avenue”. While preparing a bicycle trip to France. I noted it down in a little notebook . I would like to re-read the text and write about it, in a later stage.)

Patricia has added all kinds of cheeses, all kinds of vegetables to her ommelettes. And she does much, much more for me! I love he

Published by

roel guldemond

I like improving added value of information systems. Or cycling. Either be in a garden.

2 thoughts on “How to do “omelet aux poireaux””

  1. He Roel, het is wel weer tijd om een party moment te hebben met Sam in Burgundy. Wanneer pedaleer je eens deze kant op?

Leave a Reply

